This post is a lot more personal than normal, but I am really stressed out right now. My mom is very sick, and I am at a loss for how to help her. She has heart problems, severe hypertension, diabetes, anxiety disorder, and a host of other problems. She has been out of her medicine for a while, and she has no access to more because she does not have any health insurance. She was recently denied disability despite the fact that she can hardly get out of bed. She sleeps most of the time because when she is awake she is in agony. I think she is going to have another heart attack or stroke. She has already had 5 heart attacks and a stroke that left her blind in her left eye. The most recent heart attack was in October of 2010. They placed a stint in one of her arteries, and said that she had two other blockages that would need taking care of eventually. I think now is the time.

I have contacted our church to get some help for her medicine, and so she can go to the doctor. They have agreed to help but I have not heard from them again. I even contacted them a second time with no luck. I have posted requests for donations on several different websites. Her medicine costs over $600 per month alone. That doesn’t count the cost of going to see the doctor or going to the hospital. She is supposed to be taking 7 different blood pressure medicines, diabetes medicine, plavix for the stint, aspirin for a blood thinner, cholesterol medicine, anxiety medicine, and a couple more that I can not remember. Unfortunately, she does not have any refills left on any of her prescriptions. She will have to go to the doctor–one is a cardiologist–to get new prescriptions. We do not have the money for that. So, I am worried that if someone doesn’t come through for us, I will lose my mom very soon.

To complicate matters further, I have a younger brother who has autism. I am terrified of what will happen to him if my mom dies. Oh, I am not saying I am not willing to be responsible for my brother. I accept that responsibility with no problem. I am more worried about how he will be able to handle his emotions. My brother gets violent when he is stressed out, and I don’t want him to get into any kind of trouble. Some people don’t understand what it is like to feel this kind of fear. I am terrified that he will go off the deep end if something happens to my mom. 

I would appreciate any advice that you guys can give me. Do you know where I can get some help for my mom? She doesn’t qualify for medicaid. I already asked. She’s not old enough for medicare. She still has about 5 years before she will qualify for medicare. I don’t know what to do. Please help. I am so stressed out. 

